

PRESS RELEASE

TIME TO ACT AND DENOUNCE DEVISIVE LGBT PROTESTS IN BIRMINGHAM

MONDAY 22nd JULY 2019

With alarm increasing at the protests over inclusive education outside of schools in Birmingham spreading across the country, we all at Slough Conservatives call on Labour council leader Cllr. James Swindlehurst to denounce these hostilities and commit to action in support of inclusivity for LGBT+ residents here in Slough.

It is crucial we defend the hard-fought rights of LGBT+ residents, ensuring we provide the right support for them, promote greater understanding and acceptance and do everything we can to avoid these regressive and disturbing protests spreading to our schools in Slough.

We would urge Cllr. Swindlehurst to show commitment to this cause by signing our council up to <u>the Stonewall Children and Young Peoples Service Champions</u> <u>programme</u>, designed to help our teachers and support workers better provide for inclusivity education and LGBT+ wellbeing.

We also believe that he should support our call for the council to lead in working on proposals to hold a Pride event in Slough, to help us demonstrate our collective support for LGBT+ rights and inclusion in our town.

Actions speak louder than words - and as one of the youngest and most diverse places in the country, we need now more than ever to promote inclusion and togetherness, and not allow division and fear to rule.

SLOUGH DESERVES BETTER



Signed by all leading officers & activists across Slough Conservatives:

Lee Pettman – Chair, SCA Gurcharan Manku – President, SCA Christine Bamigbola – Secretary, SCA & Chair, East Slough Branch Cllr. Anna Wright – Deputy Chair, SCA & Ward Councillor for Haymill & Lynch Hill Cllr. Wayne Strutton – Leader, Slough Conservative Group & Ward Councillor for Haymill & Lynch Hill Cllr. Paul Kelly – Ward Councillor for Haymill & Lynch Hill Chandni Rajora – Chair, West Slough Branch Allison Miller-Ross – Chair, Slough Women's Conservative Organisation Ben Vincent – Member, Haymill Charlie Olsen – Member, Cippenham Aaron Brown – Member, Haymill Patrick O'Connor - Member, Haymill Jeremy Owen – Member, Wexham Frank Abe – Member & Former Councillor, Langley Chandra Muvvala – Member, Langley Meena Sharma – Member, Langley **Rayman Bains – Member & Former Councillor, Upton** Neel Rana – Member, Upton Lynn Miller-Ross – Member, Farnham

